The Brief: SNL is an abbreviation for Saturday Night Live, NBC's late-night comedy variety show.


SNL broadcasts on Saturday nights at 11:30. It has been on the air for over 40 years, featuring comedians such as Will Ferrell, Julia Lois-Dreyfus, and Tracy Morgan.

SNL is produced by NBC and created by Lorne Michaels.

In every episode, there is a guest host and a musical guest. Popular clips from each week’s episode are posted to SNL’s YouTube channel.

The current cast consists of Beck Bennett, Aidy Bryant, Pete Davidson, Michael Che, Mikey Day, Heidi Gardner, Leslie Jones, Colin Jost, Kate McKinnon, Alex Moffat, Kyle Mooney, Ego Nwodim, Chris Redd, Cecily Strong, Kenan Thompson, and Melissa Villaseñor.